Will You Just Listen

Sometimes silence is exhausting

New Technology Rocks

GPISD made the news!

Thursday morning, when GPISD teachers returned from summer break, we were greeted by the Discovery Education Network.

I’ve used Discovery for their streaming of videos many times before.  In fact, I already had folders with saved videos on it from several years ago.  I’m not going to lie – I had a couple of moments where I thought I wasn’t going to learn anything (which happens to me quite often in technology classes).  Thankfully, it only took 1/2 of the first day before I started to learn things I didn’t already know.  Then the excitement kicked in, the wheels started turning, and I started trying to decide how I could use the DEN at the beginning of the school year.

The second day of training brought even more possibilities.  I feel fortunate to work in a district that values technology and its benefits to our students.  I look forward to this school year and hope I do a good job incorporating this new technology into my classroom.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “New Technology Rocks

  1. We work with Discovery Ed as well and it’s pretty awesome! Another new technology I found over the summer was remind101.com – I’m excited to try it out this school year!

    • Do you create whole lessons with it and your students login, do the work, and submit it back to you? Previously I’d only used it for streaming. It will be awesome (provided I can get my students into a lab to use it).

Leave a Reply

